Church Name: Immaculate Heart of Mary.
In 1947 the Stafford church of St Luke and St Michael’s church at Waimea were dismantled, the materials being used at Awatuna to build a new church. Bishop Lyons blessed and opened the church on August 17, 1947.
“The new church is unique in many respects. Its historical relationship with the district has been fully preserved by the use in its construction of timbers from the old churches at Stafford and Waimea. It was built by Mr N. Neville under the direction of Rev Fr J.S. O’Brien in whose parish it is situated. It is situated on the road between Awatuna and Stafford.”
By 1971 the church was no longer being used and it was auctioned, being sold for the price of the land.